MISO MUSHROOMS & SESAME GREENS

I’m about to use the word splendid.

While I have abstained from meat eating Monday-Friday with some splendid results (there it is), there is still something I miss from the meat eating process and that is the cutting. As barbaric as I’m about to sound, I do love the activity of driving a fork into a meaty article and cutting it with a knife. It’s ruffed. It’s tactical. It’s necessary. So I wanted to come up with a super quick and meatless dish that gives me that same ‘knife in and drag’ technique that I crave so much.

I’m not a serial killer, I swear.

I’ll also be dead honest when I say I was originally going to add some Hoi-Sin to the greens and make it a Hoi-Sin Greens dish. But I got home and realised I had no Hoi-Sin and still really wanted the mushroom. So I improvised with a sesame based green foundation. It’s still great in a whole other way.

Miso paste these days, by the way guys, is available for £2 in ASDA so don’t be nervous.

Preheat the oven to 200c. In a small bowl, combine two tablespoons of miso paste, the juice and zest of a lime, some salt and a dash of honey. Grab yourself four Portobello mushrooms and place in a baking tray. Cover lightly with some olive oil before evening pouring the miso mixture over the mushrooms. Slide them in the oven for 30 minutes.

IMG_0289

For the Sesame Greens, we’re keeping it really simple. Start doing these about 15 minutes into the mushroom’s cooking time. While your mushrooms bake, bring a pan of water to a boil and add to it any greens you like. I went for mangetout and broccoli. Cook them until just tender before draining. Put them back in the pan you just boiled them in (now dry) and drizzle over a little sesame oil.

Fry them for about 5 minutes before adding some sesame seeds and a finely chopped red chili – reserving some chillies for a garnish later. Swirl around until they are coated in the seeds and red confetti. Empty these on to a plate before drizzling over a small glug of sesame oil. Remove your mushrooms from the oven and plate up, pouring the delicious miso gravy over the mushrooms and greens as you go and sprinkling over a little chili before you serve.

IMG_0287

Leave a Reply

