MIKEY’S KITCHEN HABITS, PART 3

My salads are always put together on a pyramid scheme. One salad leaf as a base, one main “star” (the meat or main vegetable), one vegetable accompaniment, one ‘onion’ type (spring onions, shallots etc) and a dressing. Anything more is too complicated.

I can’t cook in silence. In my life, silence usually means something is wrong or the dog is up to no good. So to feel at ease, I listen to music when I cook. I like listening to CD’s. Like I said in my other Kitchen Habits post, I’m incredibly old school with technology.

I plan my meals every Sunday. I write what I’m going to have for dinner in my Notes on my phone – the only technology I understand – and then write in brackets underneath what I need to buy for that meal and delete them as I go.

I always practice mise en place. It basically means ‘get your sh**’ together and put all of your ingredients out within arm’s reach (weighed and measured) before you cook so that you’re not scrambling about for them later.

IMG_8975.JPG

To measure pasta before you cook, pour it into the bowl you’re serving it in. Then take out a small handful (because pasta swells). That way you won’t cook more than you need.

I only buy one block of cheese a time. Nothing saddens me more than lots of miserable arse ends of cheese that have not been used up.

I don’t use specific measurements purely because everyone’s kitchen is different. I give rough estimates and let you figure out the rest based on your preference and circumstance

Scattering things from heights is not just for dramatic effect. If you scatter from a low height, you’re only putting seasoning in one concentrated area of the dish. If you do it from a height, it can fall evenly across the whole thing.

IMG_9317.JPG

I could probably get away with only using 3 or 4 pieces of cookware. My big yellow LEON pot, my wide KUHN RIKON pan, my old battered orange French saucepan I bought from an auction and a large, deep metal roasting dish with handles.

I haven’t eaten a ready meal in 6 years. The last ready meal I had was in University. And it was dreadful. But at the time I’m sure I loved it.

My least favourite Kitchen chore is definitely peeling. I hate peeling potatoes and carrots and if I can get out of doing it I will. Although I do like to feed my dog the carrot skins. Shamed.

DSC_0242

signature

3 comments

Leave a Reply

