TOASTED COCONUT & RASPBERRY GRANOLA

This isn’t a granola recipe.

Kind of. But I’ve become somewhat of a granola addict lately. Not just because I eat it by the fistful when I’m bored, but mostly because it’s such a weirdly enjoyable way to start the morning. I always set up my granola the night before in a little travel mug and then add the yoghurt or milk when I get to work because I don’t like it to go soggy on my commute.

A soggy commute. What a hauntingly beautiful metaphor.

But essentially it allows me to just crack on with the day and not worry about what I’m going to do for breakfast, not least does it happily allow me to avoid making a left turn into Greggs and ordering the bacon/sausage baguette and large latte. Yes. Baguette. Not the bap. THE BAGUETTE.

This recipe, like many others here, is more of an assembly than a recipe. And no it’s not a recipe where I ask you to combine a bunch of seeds and bits and bobs and roast them to make your own granola. I don’t have THAT kind of time. Good store bought granola works just as well.

My mother told me recently that she used to make her own granola. And have a job. And wrangle children. And cook. And iron. And put up with my childhood nonsense. She’s a better person that I am. My granola will forever come from a box.

IMG_9538

In a dry pan, toast a handful of desiccated coconut. May seem a little weird but toasting the coconut flakes brings out this gorgeously sweet smoky flavour that is perfect with this granola. Toast it for about 5 minutes before removing from the pan.

Pour about a cup of granola into a bowl and cover with milk. Don’t laugh at me but I did use almond milk here, purely for that extra nutty flavour. I then threw raspberries and pumpkin seeds over this, followed by a generous sprinkle of the toasted coconut.

Leave a Reply

