ROAST RADISH & CAULIFLOWER TRAYBAKE

This recipe took a lot for me to write.

Only because I was contemplating if it was insulting. I looked at the recipe – which is LITERALLY just chopping, salting and roasting two vegetables and I was like ‘Will my readers be insulted by its simplicity?’

But then I reminded myself that I took a vow of honesty when I started this blog. Honesty being that I would just document the things I ate of an evening, how simple cooking can be and to reveal the truth about good food. So I figured this tray of roasted veg is basically the definition of what the blog was aiming to achieve.

Admittedly, I wouldn’t use this recipe as a representation of the service this blog supplies but it signifies the minimalist straightforwardness of cooking, particularly my cooking. It’s a really tasty, subtly spicy, side dish that goes great with roast chicken or some white fish.

IMG_9150

Preheat the oven to 200C. Get yourself a head of cauliflower and break it into bite size florets. Throw into a roasting tray. Halve a bunch of small radishes, keep the little green spouts on, it looks so cute. Throw them in the tray.

Drizzle the veg with some chili oil. If you don’t have chili oil, use regular olive oil and a scant sprinkle of dried chili flakes. Sprinkle over some celery salt and roast in the oven for about 35-40 minutes or until the cauliflower starts charring (that’s where the flavour sits). Finely chop some chives and sprinkle before serving.

signature

Leave a Reply

