PEANUT BUTTER HUMMUS

Peanut Butter Hummus.

If a recipe idea comes to me, I am always happy for my inspirations to allow my culinary creativity to wander. The only place I won’t let it wander, is to more than one shop. Basically, despite food and cooking playing a huge role in my life, the one thing I don’t have time for is time wasting. There are very few things in life I would willingly attempt to hunt down in several shops – and since they don’t sell Jamie Dornan in stores these days – I rarely go beyond a one stop shop for my ingredients. The case in point for this recipe: tahini paste for a hummus recipe.

I live in Cardiff. City of plenty and culinary cultural recipes are plenty for the experience thereof. However I am lazy and the concept of walking to a somewhere for the purpose of tahini paste when I get home from work at 6 and have a guest coming over for wine at 6:30 makes me want to throw a strop. My brain did a little overtime on the train ride home where I thought what were the bare essentials of tahini paste and how could I substitute it. Tahini is essentially a nutty paste made from ground sesames seeds. Peanut Butter is essentially a nutty paste. You can see where I’m going with this.

I figured that substituting tahini paste for a little smooth peanut butter with a dash of sesame oil into it fit the bill just as good – if not better as the nuttiness of peanut butter is a little softer and gives a creamy yet still fundamentally grainy texture to the hummus. I was still able to serve my guests some wine and hummus without ever trekking further than my own Kitchen cabinet. The lazy cook in me rejoices again.

IMG_9826

Drain two cans of regular chickpeas and empty into a food processor before dousing with a little flavourless oil and a generous squeeze of some lemon juice. Grate in a little of the lemon zest before blitzing them. In a small bowl, combine the peanut butter and a little sesame oil before emptying into the processor of chickpeas. Follow this with a garlic clove and a little cumin before blitzing once more. Add a little Greek yoghurt for a final blitz before stirring everything with a spoon to ensure all is combined and creamy before dolloping into a serve bowl.

In a pan, dry fry some pine nuts (or don’t… I know they’re a bit on the expensive side for what they are!) before removing from the heat. Once cooled, scatter across the hummus followed by a little sprinkling of some smoked paprika. I served my hummus with some toasted pitta but I know carrot and celery and all that jazz goes great with it too. Feel free to dip whatever you feel.

IMG_9827

So here is a nifty little example of mine where a one stop shop in a very local supermarket can attain you a beautiful crafted snack and ‘dip option’ for any passing house guests without needing to crawl to Narnia for a single ingredient. While I aim to not be disrespectful to any cultural tradition of the hummus construction, a sesame spiked dollop of peanut butter is more of a lazy homage than a flippant substitute.

Either way – allow yourself to not feel confined to the structures of traditional cuisine and allow your tired legs to make the decision for you.

sign

2 comments

Leave a Reply

