NEVER SKIP BREAKFAST.

Golden Granola Muffins with Almond Dust.

I am horrendous at eating breakfast. I would rather the extra 20 minutes curled up in a warm bed that clattering about in a kitchen before even the rooster has decided to wake up. However working in a fast-paced nine-to-five life stencil, I have begrudgingly come to learn how crucial a morning nibble is for my daily brain function pattern.

It was only when I began eating breakfast at my desk every morning while catching up on e-mails did I notice the slow-burning kick that a nibble during the morning time gave me. I am not brave enough to start frying up eggs and heating up milk for omelettes and porridge at my desk, so I wanted to find something I could make on a quiet Sunday that would keep throughout the week, acting as a go-to morning grab to eat at my desk.

Muffins tick this box befittingly. Light enough to not induce that walrus-like office bloat but thick enough to give your morning hunger growl the slap that it needs, ensuring you glide through your workload with ease.

2

1. Preheat the oven to 200C and line a 12-dip muffin tray with paper cases

2. In a large bowl, whisk together 80ml of vegetable oil, 175g brown sugar, 1 egg and 250ml of buttermilk

**I premade my buttermilk by combining one cup of milk with two tablespoons of lemon juice, stirring and allowing to stand for 10 minutes**

3. In a separate bowl, combine 225g of plain flour and 1 teaspoon of Bicarb of Soda with ¼ of a teaspoon of salt in a small bowl and turn with a fork

4. Pour the dry contents (flour etc) into the larger bowl of wet contents (milk etc) and stir with a wooden spoon

5. Fold in 250g of granola and a tablespoon of golden syrup until the batter is a golden brown mixture

6. Divide the batter amongst the waiting paper cups before sliding in an oven and baking for 25 minutes until risen

7. Once removed from the oven, slip the risen muffins from their tray and allow to cool on a wire rack

8. Once cool, drizzle a very small amount of syrup on top of each muffin to act as a ‘glue’, before scattering small handfuls of crushed almonds over the top

 I found that this recipe allowed me not to worry about morning hunger pains and made the mid-morning troll through a workload a lot more manageable for a muffin and a hot coffee can warn off the warning bells of any career trauma.

The thick, gooey texture within the body of the muffin allows them to stay bouncy throughout the week. I recommend heating them slightly in a microwave perhaps on the Thursday/Friday however the warmth within the muffin is so delicious, it wouldn’t be unwise of me to recommend you do this everyday.

sign

2 comments

Leave a Reply

