THIRSTY COW.

Steak with marmite glaze and OXO chips.

I like it thick and I like it slathered in a chunky, creamy sauce. The way a steak should be. It’s a strong-gated cowboy’s approach to a piece of meat where a large slab of protein is intensified by the surge of a peppery sauce with enough to sop up at the end.

But I wanted to challenge myself to a different way of preparing my steak. I wanted to find a way to intensify the natural flavours of a steak with a sauce that would work with the meat from the inside out as so I came up with a marmite glaze on a tenderized flash-fried steak cutlet to fit the bill.

The combination of the beefy Marmite tang on the tender steak is really an experience. The sauce is the perfect texture so that it keeps the steak moist on the inside and nodding robustly to the natural flavours but still retaining the meaty bite that make a steak so powerful.

With this particular recipe however, I do recommend that you make as much flavour into the accompanying meal components. As there is no sauce to trickle across the chips, I do urge you to try my OXO chips that –while they may look a little char grilled – they happen to boast a deliciously concentrated crisp bite that go perfect with a steak sans pour-over sauce.

OXO

1. Pre heat the oven to 200 and line a baking tray with some grease proof paper.

2. Cut some potatoes into fries – shamelessly leave the skins on – and scatter on the baking tray before coating with some olive oil (Fries can be achieved by cutting the potato lengthways into three sections, placing the potato down and slicing down into strips)

3.  In a small bowl, crush a vegetable OXO cube and sprinkle in some oregano and rustle around with your fingertips before scattering the OXO/oregano (OXOgano, why not?) across the oily chips so that they are evenly coated before placing them in the hot oven for 35 minutes.

4. Twenty minutes into the chips cooking time, begin cooking your steak

5. Between two pieces of cling film, hammer holy hell out of a steak cutlet. I used a wooden hammer-thing I happen to own – but I’m sure I’ve seen my mother use a rolling pin to tenderize meat before now.

6. Warm a little garlic oil in a deep pan and drop the meat in. (NO, I didn’t cut the fat off the steak because I WANTED to use the melted fatty oils in the sauce. If you’re a super healthy person, cut off the fat – but I will roll my eyes through the screen)

7. Fry the steak to your own personal preference before removing it from the pan and placing it in a small foil parcel so that it can still keep warm and cook in it’s own heat.

8. In the empty pan containing the steak juices, pour a small amount of red wine and allow to simmer gently before shaking in a teaspoon full of thyme.

9. As the thyme and red wine simmer, drop in a teaspoon and a half of Marmite into the pan.

10. Once the Marmite has fully melted and the juices in the pan has become somewhat of a thick glaze, remove the steak from the foil package and place it back into the pan, pressing it down and swirling it around.

11. The steak should completely drink juices leaving only specs in the pan which will only mean one thing – the rest of the deep, heady ‘sauce’ will now be resting inside the steak.

12. Plate up with some green side dish (I chose peas with some butter run through them) however do not be alarmed when removing the OXO fries from the oven. They may be a little daunting at first as it may look as though they are burnt – but it’s only the OXO cube dustings that have been crisped.

As the filthy carnivore that I am, I cannot express how happy I was with this new balls-to-the-wall approach to cooking a steak.

The ‘thirsty cow’ will sop up all of the juices for you as if it’s parched, making sure that every bite doesn’t need to be slathered in an uncouth sauce in order to guarantee taste.

And I definitely recommend you approach your fries this way also. You will love them like OXO*

* Beyoncé reference.

sign

2 comments

Leave a Reply

