MAN CHOP.

Pork chop in mustard and pear cider sauce

While ‘butch’ is rarely an adjective I hear floating around my atmosphere – particularly in my kitchen – I found that this meal was an amalgamation of flavours that bumped shoulders with the most masculine part of my palette.

This, dear reader, is the meal to give a MAN.

From my experience, men rarely care about the logistics of cooking – particularly a sauce. You can flounce about the kitchen and present them with a gorgeously laid chicken breast smothered in the most delicate of French whisked sauces – while the cooking process will be appreciated, the flavours will still go down with the gusto of a prison meal.

They respond to pieces of meat in strong sauces. So challenging this notion without distracting from the foundations of the meat, I adapted a Nigella recipe. I wanted a super quick alternative to a standard bottled sauce to stop even the manliest of men mid-chew and recognise the combination of flavours.

Trust me – with the sturdy, scorched meat coated in a forceful alcohol-based sauce, your man will absolutely love it.

1

I started with the pork chop the size of my face. Most dieticians and chefs would advise you to cut off the fat. I am neither of these things so I will not. I’m not above cooking fat in this instance purely because the saltiness of the pig fat here eventually contributes to the sauce – so treat yourself.

In a deep pan I fried the pork chop in a small amount of garlic oil as the glossy garlic infusions here add to the sauce in the long run. I made sure to turn it after roughly 6/7 minutes on the heat so that both sides were equally as brown and allowing the meat to cook through until tender.

I eat my meats rare, however in this instance the pork will benefit from being browned – almost blistered – on the flesh as the brawny aftertaste of the meat will mix with the robust notes of the sauce. Once cooked I put the pork in a small foil parcel to keep hot while I cracked on with the sauce.

Using the same pan, I sprinkled a little white pepper. Staying true to the meal’s essence of masculine strength I then poured a small amount of pear cider (I had some Pear Strongbow knocking about in my fridge – don’t ask) into the pan and let the whole thing de-glaze.

Like I said, this recipe is all about butch sexiness on the plate, so naturally I needed a tang that challenges the pork’s sweet note so I dropped in a teaspoon of traditional English mustard (without seeds) and stirred.

Once the sharp mustard had become one with the mix, the final ingredient was a small amount of double cream. I allowed the whole thing to bubble slightly on a low heat as a high heat would sputter the cream and it would essentially boil, whereas I was aiming for a simmer to unite the heady flavours.

I dropped the warm pork from the foil on the plate with some fried gnocchi and salad however any form of potato and greenery of your choice would be great with this meal.

I then poured the sauce over the meat and suffice to say it was the second manliest thing to ever happen in my kitchen.

The first being owning the cider in the first place.

sign

Leave a Reply

